"Ratchet" - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu "Ratchet" - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu

"Ratchet"

Door: Marijn Nust

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marijn

14 Januari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Atlanta

"Ratchet" that's how the people I went out with last saturday described the party we attended. That basically means "ghetto and cool" combined into one. In my eyes, it was just different. A totally different vibe compared to the parties I'm used to. I had a lot of fun, meeting new people is cool, they are all so nice here compared to back home! It did end pretty early though around 2 we had to catch the bus back to campus, but it was late enough for me, I was tired anyway, the jetlag has not completely worn of yet.

The next started out easy, I woke up early because my roommate got up to go to church, but I didn't really have a problem with that, it's a good way of making the most of my day. I decided it was high time to go do something and started messaging people what they were up to, a French girl, who is also a foreign exchange student, (Celina) and I decided to go and explore the downtown area of Atlanta, which basically meant taking a leisurely stroll through the for mentioned area. It was good to see some more of the city and to just walk and don't know where you're going is a really nice feeling! I made plans to have dinner with Mim that night so I met her at 4.30 and we started our walk to the "publix" which ended up to be rather close (2 miles), were it not that we had to walk back to campus with quite a few pounds of groceries, YOLO. We had a nice dinner and I went home on time to catch a good night's sleep before the first day of classes.

So, the first day of classes, awesome! I enjoyed myself a lot. Spanish and history are both going to be hybrid classes, which basically means half of it will take place in class and half will take place online through online courses. For history I had to read about 50 pages on Christopher Columbus and how America was discovered, and some extracts from his diary, it was really interesting, I'm going to like this course! For Spanish we were just talking about the course and the syllabus and I ordered the books (and online course) which added up to a god 168$, it's expensive over here!

Well, my first week is over, I absolutely loved it, I met some very cool people who are fun to hang out with and I am ready for this semester!

  • 15 Januari 2014 - 02:07

    Gerrie Cuijpers:

    Heel leuk marijn! Onderhoudend en beeldend verslag. Ben blij dat het zo naar je zin hebt.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marijn

I'm a Dutch student (studying English) who is going to live in Atlanta, Georgia for a period of 4 months. I wil be keeping everyone updated on my endeavours through this blog.

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 396
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5720

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 07 Juli 2014

Atlanta Georgia

Landen bezocht: