SO MUCH READING. - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu SO MUCH READING. - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu

SO MUCH READING.

Door: Marijn Nust

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marijn

19 Januari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Atlanta

Well one thing I've learned about GSU is that it is not a joke. The readings I have to do for every class combined surpass a 100, and it is all history. For those of you who don't know, I decided I wanted to know more about the past so I took; African American studies, History of North-America before the 1800s, History of the motion picture and Spanish, and I have to tell you, I now understand how my students feel when I address them in English, I literally don't understand a word of what our teacher has been saying. I do know how to introduce myself now: "Hola, me llamo Marijn, yo soy de Hollanda". But even despite all the reading, which I tend to find interesting anyhow, I'm still having a great time here.
Those of you that know me, will know I don't really like watching sports (except for when the Dutch football team plays of course). Just as every university does, GSU also has a couple of sports teams on of them, the GSU panthers (basketball) were playing a game on sunday, and I went. It was so cool. I felt like I had entered a horrible cliche-like American teen movie. Everything is just like in the movies, cheerleaders, a mascotte, vendors walking up and down the aisles. It was amazing, and we won by won point, which made the last 3 minutes of the game extra exciting.
Appart from the game, I've been trying to hang out with as many people as possible, in the lofts I have already met some really nice people to hang out with, and that's basically what I've been doing. Friday however was a different story, my roommate (Salvador) was going to a party and invited me to come. Needless to say I said yes, it was awesome. Again I met a lot of really cool people and I had a great time.

In a few hours a friend is going to play basketball and I'm going with him. Let's hope I don't injure myself!

(I will put up some new pictures on Facebook)

  • 23 Januari 2014 - 17:39

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Marijn,

    Lots of new cool people and courses, and a lot of (historical) reading tasks, that's what I gather from your posts... enjoy! Hope you'll come back with fluent Spanish.... and English of course..... Keep up the good work, greetz, Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marijn

I'm a Dutch student (studying English) who is going to live in Atlanta, Georgia for a period of 4 months. I wil be keeping everyone updated on my endeavours through this blog.

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 201
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5733

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 07 Juli 2014

Atlanta Georgia

Landen bezocht: