Going on an adventure - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu Going on an adventure - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Marijn Nust - WaarBenJij.nu

Going on an adventure

Door: Marijn Nust

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marijn

08 Januari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Atlanta

So monday arrived, with a long day ahead of me I rose and shone (?) at 5am. We (my parents, sister and me) started driving to Dusseldorf at about a quarter to 6. We arrived at 7.15 , time to find my gate and check in. Since we had some time to kill we had some Starbucks at the airport. Everything went smooth and the only thing I could do after getting through customs was hope and pray not to have to sit next to an annoying kid or a smelly person on a 10 hour flight, lucky me, this was not the case! Saying goodbye to my parents and sister was harder than expected, I'm going to miss them, A LOT.
On the first flight I watched 4 movies and spend half an hour listening to music (yelawolf/eminem). Now came the hard part, getting through customs, claiming my luggage, re-checking my luggage and getting through customs (again). It all worked out fine and I arrived in Atlanta pretty much on time.

THAT COLD THOUGH!
It's really cold here, minus 10 I believe, freezing! I already met some people at the lofts (where I'm staying) and one of them helped me find the Mcdonalds to get a burger. My roommate is a cool guy, Marcus, he keeps to himself but is really helpful and just overall a cool guy to hang out with.

Tuesday was the first day of actually going somewhere. I went to the University centre to check in and round off my immigration (into school). After, me and Mim (a swedish girl I met before coming here) had breakfast at a waffle house (maannnn that was gooooood) and went to a shopping mall so I could buy a macbook, from which I'm now writing this :D. After getting home I spent some time skyping with my parents and long after dinnertime Jared, a guy I met who is in the same hall, took me to the cvs to buy much needed food and after it we cooked up some pasta and enjoyed that! So now it's almost time to got to sleep, I've got a long day ahead of me tomorrow.

  • 08 Januari 2014 - 15:20

    Jan Cuijpers:

    Hi Marijn,
    Leuk om je belevenissen op deze manier te kunnen volgen. Het blijft interessant als je probeert er een beetje een journalistiek of - excusez le mot - literair verhaal van te maken. Dus niet alles opschrijven precies in de volgorde waarin het zich heeft afgespeeld. Dan wordt het zo'n schoolopstel.
    Voorbeeld:
    Op mijn eerste dag in Atlanta heb ik meteen al kennis gemaakt met drie leuke mensen. Topper was Mim, het Zweedse meisje met wie ik koffie ging drinken. Etc. etc.
    Het is maar een hint, want ik blijf je verslagen toch wel lezen.

    Grtzzzz,
    Je oom Jan.

  • 08 Januari 2014 - 22:07

    Oanh:

    Hi Marijn!

    How are you liking Atlanta and Georgia State so far? I see you and Mim have already visited Waffle House (or WaHo for short). Isn't it so good?! I get the chocolate chip waffle EVERY time I go! The weather should be warming up in no time. You'll learn very soon that Georgia has very bipolar weather. Hope you're enjoying your stay here!

    -Oanh

  • 09 Januari 2014 - 03:08

    Marijn Nust:

    He Jan,

    Gelijk heb je ik ga er de volgende keer op letten:)!


  • 09 Januari 2014 - 03:09

    Marijn Nust:

    Hi Oanh,

    So far, I've really enjoyed my stay, it's so cool to meet al these new people! And yeah, the waho is really good. I'm probably gonna have breakfast there more often! When are you leaving?
    Oh and by the way, I'm cool with the weather like this, I've seen worse

    Marijn

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marijn

I'm a Dutch student (studying English) who is going to live in Atlanta, Georgia for a period of 4 months. I wil be keeping everyone updated on my endeavours through this blog.

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 291
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5735

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Januari 2014 - 07 Juli 2014

Atlanta Georgia

Landen bezocht: